Author Topic: SSL4000G first recording session...OMG!!  (Read 3650 times)

hocusprocus

SSL4000G first recording session...OMG!!
« on: December 16, 2016, 08:32:29 PM »
Hi,
It's Francesco here, I'm from Rome, Italy and I'm a noob with SSL consoles, so please be patient with me :-)

I've just been hired as studio assistant and guess what? the sound engineer quit and now it's everything in my hands, including an SSL4000G console...WOW that's great!! :-) but that's not so great if you've never worked on a console like this!!

Next week I'll have to manage a recording session with drums, bass, guitars and voice and I'm in serious troubles because I've had so little time with this console...so here I am asking for some help.

This is what I need to do, in flow signal order:

- Use the channel strip PREs (for now the EQ and DYN modules will be OFF, let's keep it simple  ;)  )
- Use some external PREs and then go into the SSL at line level)
- go into my DAW and record (PT HD)
- back to the SSL possibly on the same channels used to record
- set the CUES for the musicians in prefader mode (is it MONITOR channel or MAIN channel?)
- set an AUX for reverbs

thanks to this page:
http://www.recordinginstitute.com/da154/ARP/chap1SSL/sslb.html
I 've almost reached the goal but I'd like to know from you people, HOW (step by step) you will setup your SSL to handle this session..and  with step by step I mean the status buttons you would use, which of the routing buttons (prefader, small fader, tape ready, group ready, input, output, direct, float)

my first tries today were in RECORD + VCAs to MONITOR mode and a couple of mics set with the main channel pre and an external pre. Then I've sent some stem tracks from the DAW to the SSL and I've found a way to have my cue aux in prefader...just don't know HOW I did it  :-[

I hope to get some good tip here..or maybe a step by step guide :-)

p.s.