Author Topic: Moving faders for vca SSL consoles  (Read 6818 times)

Dan Korneff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +1/-0
Moving faders for vca SSL consoles
« on: August 03, 2012, 05:58:56 PM »
Anybody see this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P7mAlQK49GE

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/high-end/548232-moving-faders-vca-ssl-consoles.html

I would love to get my hands on this, but I cant get in touch with Pelle. Does anyone know or have contact with him?

Matt Sartori

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 618
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • London
    • Solid State Logic Fanatics Database
Re: Moving faders for vca SSL consoles
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2012, 07:42:17 AM »
Ehi Dan,
I have managed to get in touch with him, but he is very busy.
I have asked him to pop around here and use this forum as support,to make debugging and suggestions easier for everybody.
He said yes but he was on holiday when he said so and no news since then.

I m on standby to hear from him...

Mattia.

swarapadi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Bali, Indonesia
Re: Moving faders for vca SSL consoles
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2012, 11:32:35 AM »
Just curious what if we purchase a cheap 8 fader control surface, and physically link the faders to the SSL VCA faders from under the panel probably using a small thin piece of metal and either epoxy glued or welded.

Or in the case of J / K series which use the same P&G motor faders in the channel,  we solder the motor output wires from the control surface to the SSL VCA fader motor.

This way in the program, let's say protools, we can choose the control surface as either channels (banks) or VCA group. 
Has anyone done or thought about this?

PelleG

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: +8/-1
    • Stockholm, Sweden
    • Automan
Re: Moving faders for vca SSL consoles
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2012, 10:43:23 PM »
Anybody see this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P7mAlQK49GE

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/high-end/548232-moving-faders-vca-ssl-consoles.html

I would love to get my hands on this, but I cant get in touch with Pelle. Does anyone know or have contact with him?

Not only busy. But also broke.

Dan Korneff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Moving faders for vca SSL consoles
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2012, 11:53:38 PM »
Not only busy. But also broke.

How can we change that? You have something that I NEED!  ;)

sintech

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 827
  • Karma: +59/-0
    • Bristol, UK
Re: Moving faders for vca SSL consoles
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2012, 12:52:39 AM »
Nice to see you here PelleG :--)

PelleG

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: +8/-1
    • Stockholm, Sweden
    • Automan
Re: Moving faders for vca SSL consoles
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2012, 11:47:21 AM »
Not only busy. But also broke.

How can we change that? You have something that I NEED!  ;)

Dan,

I replied to your PM on Gearslutz early summer.

But, ...it didn't say much anyway.

I don't want to whine. Problem is I have studio, a pretty large studio. And all my design hours cost double (triple, quadruple??) because I'm not at work. I've been trying to rent it out for longer terms to give me time for this project.

But, kids these days! either they don't appreciate large SSLs, studer 24 track, 64 output ProTools and a BIG live room... (I'm telling you, 95% of my sold studio time is ONE microphone in, stereo out.)
...or occasionally someone is actually turning on the power to the buckets (and, VERY rarely, the tape machine) but then they need 110% supervising just to get it moving.

Whine, whine ... I know.

Tell me what you need? Maybe I can do a custom job .. if It's close to the system I already built for myself.



Showcase

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • Dreamix
Re: Moving faders for vca SSL consoles
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2012, 12:30:09 PM »
PelleG!

Where is your studio located? Maybe we can join together? :)

PelleG

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: +8/-1
    • Stockholm, Sweden
    • Automan
Re: Moving faders for vca SSL consoles
« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2012, 01:25:02 PM »
Stockholm, Sweden.

We join in a crusade for better audio. Yay!

...  Oh. We already lost. Damn.

Showcase

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • Dreamix
Re: Moving faders for vca SSL consoles
« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2012, 01:34:59 PM »
Im thinking of moving the studio to Sthlm, but its hard to find good spaces for my wallet, so joing another studio is an option, best option so far... basement on "Söder" 2.4 wall height :(

PelleG

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: +8/-1
    • Stockholm, Sweden
    • Automan
Re: Moving faders for vca SSL consoles
« Reply #10 on: September 09, 2012, 04:18:09 PM »
Well.

I have tried three joints during the years, the first was ... cloudy and blurry.
Second almost ruined me.
Last one doubled my work and halfed my income.

But Hey,

I made another profile for my studio. I guess it's more in the line of this site forum.
So by name of "Grondahl Studio" I'll be one of you. Happy Camper!

"PelleG" will be the dark side, on the other side of the fence.


marcmozart

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 480
  • Karma: +28/-0
    • Frankfurt/Germany
    • Mozart & Friends
Re: Moving faders for vca SSL consoles
« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2012, 01:25:12 PM »
Hi Pelle,
I'm counting on your system to be ready at one point. I think I'd like exactly the same that you installed, with Motorfaders in the center and 48 faders connected to the computer. It's perfect.

Cheers,
Marc
1992 SSL 4048 G-Series
Mix Engineer Blog
http://www.mixedbymarcmozart.com

theBank

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • theBank
Re: Moving faders for vca SSL consoles
« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2012, 03:59:37 AM »
Hi Pelle,
I'm counting on your system to be ready at one point. I think I'd like exactly the same that you installed, with Motorfaders in the center and 48 faders connected to the computer. It's perfect.

Cheers,
Marc

DITTO
Thanks Pelle

PelleG

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: +8/-1
    • Stockholm, Sweden
    • Automan
Re: Moving faders for vca SSL consoles
« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2012, 11:29:39 AM »
I know, I know.

Well. As you may know. The design is 99% finished and my own prototype is working very well.
At the moment I'm teaming up with some people to prepare a few more rugged prototypes for shipping.

As you also can imagine, there's a LOT of things to consider. There's tons of different parts involved.
This is like an industry standard car manufacturing controlling machine. But, with the budget of a model airplane.



« Last Edit: September 29, 2012, 07:59:08 PM by PelleG »

marcmozart

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 480
  • Karma: +28/-0
    • Frankfurt/Germany
    • Mozart & Friends
Re: Moving faders for vca SSL consoles
« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2012, 07:12:01 PM »
Hi Pelle,
thanks for the reply - very excited!

Do you need another person to do testing on the prototypes? Let me know. I have a 48 Channel G-Series.

Cheers,
Marc
1992 SSL 4048 G-Series
Mix Engineer Blog
http://www.mixedbymarcmozart.com