Author Topic: Switches in a SSL 4056G+ SE  (Read 454 times)

mg73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Switches in a SSL 4056G+ SE
« on: February 06, 2018, 06:27:42 PM »
Just got an SSL 4056G+ SE.
Its in a nice cosmetic condition,
but hasn't been properly used in several years but been in a Aircondition room.

A lot of the switches are intermitting, don't think it's so much because of dirt or that they are worn out
more just to not being used in a long time.

It looks like most of them are Schadow switches.

Anyone one have an idea how I best bring them to life..
Faderlube,kontakt 60, Ultrasonicbath
or replace all bad??

Best





 

Clip6

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Switches in a SSL 4056G+ SE
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2018, 09:09:38 PM »
 8) Awesome congrats. Only a dozen SE's made.....pics please.


mg73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Switches in a SSL 4056G+ SE
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2018, 07:51:40 PM »
Thanks!
Pics will come, right now it's ripped apart..
Some other problems I also try to fix.

Computer won't boot
monitor shows "pacman" which I understand is normal before upstart
but floppy's(3.5) won't spin, reset button is lit up so ii guess they got  power.
The card that the scsi cable is connected to has a red lamp lit up.
Can't find any info in the manual about but guess it means something is wrong.
Where is good to start with a fault like this?

The SL668G PSU shuts down the +-15v volt at startup,
And starting with variac I notice positive gets too high voltage
and trimpot doesn't make any difference..
Need to do some more tests.

The MSD550 screen has nasty horizontal lines but all function works.
Anyone know a replacement just for the LCD screen?









Clip6

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Switches in a SSL 4056G+ SE
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2018, 09:00:12 PM »
If your in a big city....find a tech.

What city are you in. Lots of techs around. List on Gearslutz and here.

Once we know city someone can recommend a tech.

It's all fixable.

mg73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Switches in a SSL 4056G+ SE
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2018, 07:27:13 AM »
I'm in Goteborg Sweden, just know one other Ultimation SSL here in Sweden and that's Swedish radios one in Sthlm.
I'm just started with the service and haven't giving up yet
I think I just need to get my head around it.
The console is not a wreck and in good cosmetic condition
hopefully just oxide and simple problems.

Audioplatinum Service

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • Zagreb, CROATIA
    • Embrio Production Studio
Re: Switches in a SSL 4056G+ SE
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2018, 01:25:46 PM »
For PSU, probably small regulator board is out of order..   :o  (I saw a lot of transformers broken/shorted, with small picofuse blown also on regulator board) Next thing is to check capacitors on small regulator board..

If one regulator board is not working, PSU shut down that +/- rail..

If you have problem with some channels, or cards..I can help with that.. I own complete test workbench for 4/6K.

Regards,
Damir
embrioproduction.com
AudioPlatinumService






Thanks!
Pics will come, right now it's ripped apart..
Some other problems I also try to fix.

Computer won't boot
monitor shows "pacman" which I understand is normal before upstart
but floppy's(3.5) won't spin, reset button is lit up so ii guess they got  power.
The card that the scsi cable is connected to has a red lamp lit up.
Can't find any info in the manual about but guess it means something is wrong.
Where is good to start with a fault like this?

The SL668G PSU shuts down the +-15v volt at startup,
And starting with variac I notice positive gets too high voltage
and trimpot doesn't make any difference..
Need to do some more tests.

The MSD550 screen has nasty horizontal lines but all function works.
Anyone know a replacement just for the LCD screen?
"A clean desk is the sign of a sick mind..."

mg73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Switches in a SSL 4056G+ SE
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2018, 01:37:37 PM »
Thanks!

I managed to get all PSU´s up and running.
Bad Volt regulator and a broken Power Resistor.

Also noticed that the Logic Supply for the Ultimation Faders had either one of the pins in the  SL668G chassi contact wrong or at the cable contact
According to the manual its suppose to be 3 wires for -15 and +15 but my system only has 2.
But the -15v has pin S,T connected on the chassi contacts but R,S on the cable.
So now it's only one wire for -15v, but maybe that is enough for 66 Faders??
+15v is correct.

Computer tomorrow that still won't boot
and after that I will start to go over all channels.





For PSU, probably small regulator board is out of order..   :o  (I saw a lot of transformers broken/shorted, with small picofuse blown also on regulator board) Next thing is to check capacitors on small regulator board..

If one regulator board is not working, PSU shut down that +/- rail..

If you have problem with some channels, or cards..I can help with that.. I own complete test workbench for 4/6K.

Regards,
Damir
embrioproduction.com
AudioPlatinumService


ULH

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
  • Karma: +5/-1
    • Copenhagen Denmark
    • Frostbox Recording Studio
Re: Switches in a SSL 4056G+ SE
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2018, 04:25:21 PM »
Great news. If you need on site assistance Im based in Copenhagen and service our own 4064g from 1994 with ultimation and a couple of other E series incl. ssl computers.

Cheers
Uffe
Frostbox Labs

mg73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Switches in a SSL 4056G+ SE
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2018, 04:54:08 PM »
Nice to hear Ulf.
It's just a 3h drive (or train) up here.
Maybe you would be interested in a visit to Gothenburg?


Great news. If you need on site assistance Im based in Copenhagen and service our own 4064g from 1994 with ultimation and a couple of other E series incl. ssl computers.

Cheers
Uffe
Frostbox Labs

ULH

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
  • Karma: +5/-1
    • Copenhagen Denmark
    • Frostbox Recording Studio
Re: Switches in a SSL 4056G+ SE
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2018, 04:09:27 PM »
Yes we could do that :-) PM sent

mg73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Switches in a SSL 4056G+ SE
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2018, 09:42:59 PM »
Hi,

Did yo PM me?

m