Author Topic: Connecting St.Cans  (Read 166 times)

mg73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Connecting St.Cans
« on: April 11, 2018, 11:15:54 AM »
I would like to connect a pair of headphones to my SSL 4056G+
that are independent of the monitor speaker

According to my console connector list there is  ST.Cans L/R at DL59 D1(+) E1(-) F1(Gnd)
Is that an unbalance signal?
I only get a weak signal to my headphone amp from F1 using E1 or D1 as screen??

Chris Simon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Connecting St.Cans
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2018, 12:53:27 PM »
I believe you should be using F1 as the common ground, and unbalanced stereo outs  on D1 and E1. This is the same signal that's sent to the 621 Producer's Panel, and as such should have good level.

mg73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Connecting St.Cans
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2018, 09:11:10 PM »
I believe you should be using F1 as the common ground, and unbalanced stereo outs  on D1 and E1. This is the same signal that's sent to the 621 Producer's Panel, and as such should have good level.

Doesn't seem to be the case with mine,
will start to check the signal from the MRAC from 651 to DL59

mg73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Connecting St.Cans
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2018, 03:15:02 PM »
Now it works!

Bad contact at the DL connector pins and I thought St.cans meant whatever the speakers are putting out and not the Cue stereo
Used monitor L/R out instead at D4,E4.


jimlfixit

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 226
  • Karma: +34/-0
    • Marlow, Bucks, UK
    • Professional Connections
Re: Connecting St.Cans
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2018, 04:32:09 PM »
Here is a version of the SSL DL59 pinout. Bear in mind that they changed a lot over the years though.

If you are listening to stereo cans over the headphones via the 621 Producers Panel, the signal you hear may not be the same as any musicians hear as they will probably be fed their mixes via a power amp, headphone amp or other mixer and would have a different sound.

Hope this helps for now from Jim Lassen