Author Topic: Thoughts on using 4K with a DAW  (Read 3734 times)

marcmozart

• Frankfurt/Germany
    • Mozart & Friends
Thoughts on using 4K with a DAW
« on: April 02, 2013, 10:59:33 PM »
I found the following excerpt here, so it's just copied, not my thoughts.

http://www.aesproaudio.com/ssl/mini-consoles/details.php?pid=191#ssl

But it made me think! Check it out:

"Re no recall - if you take into consideration that every recall I ever did on a 4k was never the same anyway (& I've been using them for over 20 years) then you really don't have that much to loose.
The VCA To Meter function is invaluable. Apart from being an integral part of the sound of a 4k this gives you accurate recall of the main fader positions. All I do at the end of each mix is take one photo of each bucket of 8 VU meters (so three photos in all, channels 1-24). I then take one photo of from above (of all the eq, comp, aux & routing settings) of channels 1-16 & then another photo for the centre section & channels 17-24. Obviously I do the same for any outboard & the patchbay too. I then stick all the photos in a folder called recall photos & put that folder in Pro Tools session folder. The whole console can be recalled with 5 hi res photos. When recalling all you do is open the photos on your monitor & zoom in (ironically not unlike the TR computer) & reset. I've found this method to be accurate and as fast as the TR on my old G+.
If you're not going to use the small fader as additional sends then you have 48 channels + the 4 stereo effects returns. What I do with the Small Fader (tape inputs) when I need more returns I set all the small faders I'm using to the 0db mark on the panel. It doesn't matter if this is 0db or not. The point is it's the same all the time and therefor repeatable. I then use the Waves SSL plugins with the Analog button switched out on those channels. Obviously this gives you full recall within the Tools session. Sounds pretty close too.