Author Topic: SSL studio technical grounding and AC earthing  (Read 4914 times)

jimlfixit

• Global Moderator
    • Maidenhead, Bucks, UK
SSL studio technical grounding and AC earthing
« on: April 01, 2013, 05:13:37 PM »
I want to start a new topic about technical grounding here. I don't have an SSL console any more (I worked there for 7 years, left, bought one, broke it up and sold it ... sorry) so I have no up to date experience regarding this issue hence needing your help even though I have been involved in recording studio installations since 1987 whether the console was SSL, Neve or others.

Before I go into details about the SSL console technical grounding and possibly suggest some ideas regarding the overall studio tech grounding system, I have the following points to raise and questions to ask directly related to the SSL setup.

The 19 way Bicc power supply lead has various power grounds connected together and I think some of these link to the grounding block. Also, the centre cable (V on the Bicc I think) gets connected directly to the SSL frame on the connector panel (or not). At the other end in the 661 power supply, does it directly short to the mains ground (ie the metal case)? I have heard that this wire is used as a test wire and may get disconnected from the power supply once the console is up and running unless I have got something wrong.

Also, how is the SSL 665 computer supply technically grounded? I can't find any info on this. The console tech ground connects to the computer (691 11u rack) via the standard SSL supplied cable 25/0.25 wire and that must have some connection to the computer supply as well. Are both the 661 and 665 supplies sharing the same tech and or AC ground and how are they linked up? From memory, I think at least one of these power supplies had a tech ground terminal on the rear panel but I may be wrong.