Author Topic: Preparing to solder multicore to jacks on bays  (Read 4190 times)

ketracel

Preparing to solder multicore to jacks on bays
« on: March 09, 2016, 12:13:29 AM »
Hi Jim,

Wondering if you have a few bits of advice?

I have 6 x M&M 96 Bantam bays (5 over 5 blade jacks -  perhaps in retrospect I should have only needed 3 x 3 over 3 and 3 x 3 over 5 for 3 non normalled and 3 half normalled - oh well mistakes are always going to be made) and i've made it to the stage where it's time to solder the 2 x 32 ch multicore cables to the jacks on the patchbay. I've trimmed the wires in a layout which copies your pic of the multicores running to the centre of the tie bar and the wires fan out on each side 1-24 on left and 25-48 on the right.

Since this is my first time doing this kind of job for my bedroom studio, it's taken me many hours to get the wires the correct length. Do you happen to have a template or repeatable method to match the wires to a guide of the correct length before cutting so these wires are the perfect length every time for this layout (I have 5 more bays after this one)?

Looking at my pics again and comparing to yours I can see that I may have to remove about another 100mm of sheaving in order to flatten out the wires in each multicore so that they'll fit nicely when racked up.

Now the soldering of the wires to the jacks. Do you leave the jacks in the bay then solder the wires to each jack, then tie them to the tie bar, or do you unscrew and remove the jacks from the bay, solder the wires to the jacks, then screw them all back into the bay and then tie the wires to the bar?

How do you orient your bays when working in with either case, vertically or the with patchbay flat on table? If the first do you support the multicores on the tie bar or leave loose until all jacks are soldered?