Author Topic: 48V Problem  (Read 1684 times)

Riff Raff

• Salaise sur Sanne, France.
48V Problem
« on: February 19, 2023, 05:11:18 PM »
Hi, I got an issue with the 48V on my 4000E.
The PSU seems not to be guilty, if I run the PSU alone, the 48V led is ok, but when the console is plug to the PSU, the 48V leds don't light up on the PSU and on the console.
Is there any fuse for that in the console ? or a card that I could check ?
Thanks.

radardoug2

• New Zealand
Re: 48V Problem
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2023, 08:31:33 PM »
Sounds like you have a short on the 48 volt line in the console or a faulty cable. You will need to fault find it. You need only a multimeter that will read ohms, but that voltage goes to every module, so it will be a big job finding the short.

jimlfixit

• Global Moderator
    • Maidenhead, Bucks, UK
48V Problem ideas
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2023, 09:29:10 PM »
Hi Riff Raff. I am not technical, just a drummer and a wireman with SSL experience over 40 years but here are some of my thoughts on this:

1   48 volts just affects the mic channels, not the centre section, Keyboard etc right?
2   If so turn the console off and switch on various sections (8 channels at a time?)  but switch on the 651 and other stuff FIRST to prove it is not those units which don't have Phantom power.
3   Gradually switch on each bucket of 8 one by one to see if the problem is confined to a group of 8 channels.
4   Another option if non of the above works is that it may be on the patchbay ... see below.

I rewired a 6K SSL recently in Dorset, UK and found out that a mic input wasn't working because the bantam jack was not shorting (directly linked) to the SSL metal front panel as the console was 40 years old and the M3 screw had come loose (never, ever experienced that before). So tighten up the screws on patchbays A and B (mic sources and mic inputs) and see what happens.